Welcome to the Elk Rapids Planning Commission

The Elk Rapids Planning Commission is established as authorized by P.A. 33 of 2008, as amended, being the Michigan Planning Enabling Act, for the purpose of having planning and zoning in the Village, to create, organize, enumerate powers and duties, and to provide for the regulation and subdivision of land; coordinated and harmonious development of the Village; and to function in cooperation with other constituted authorities of incorporated and unincorporated areas within the State of Michigan. The Planning Commission performs its duties and exercises its powers as set forth in the Village of Elk Rapids Zoning and Unified Development Code, as amended.

The Planning Commission meets monthly on the fourth Tuesday of each month at 7 p.m. in the Government Center (315 Bridge St., Elk Rapids, MI 49629).

COMMISSION MEMBERS

Royce Ragland – Chair │ Term Ending 2024

email: rragland@elkrapids.org

Wally Hibbard – Vice Chair │ Term ending 2024

email: whibbard@elkrapids.org

Dave Lein│ Term ending 2023

email: dlein@elkrapids.org

Matt Conrad │ Term ending 2022

email: mattconrad@elkrapids.org

Kim Ranger │ Term ending 2023

email: kranger@elkrapids.org

Julie Farrell │ Term ending 2024

email: jfarrell@elkrapids.org

Barb Mullaly – Council Representative

email: bmullaly@elkrapids.org

Kerri Esterley – Planning & Zoning Administrator

email: kesterley@elkrapids.org

WANT TO VOLUNTEER ON THE PLANNING COMMISSION?

The Village of Elk Rapids is always seeking dedicated individuals to volunteer on boards and commissions. If you are interested in such a position, fill out an application form and either turn it in to the Village Government Center or email it to vllgclerk@elkrapids.org. Your application will be kept on file for one year. Vacant seats on the commissions and boards are usually filled in the month of April.

COMMISSION APPLICATION FORM (PDF)

For information on time commitments, requirements, and other general information about this commission, please read through the bylaws:

PLANNING COMMISSION BYLAWS (PDF)