DCIM/100MEDIA/DJI_0768.JPG

Welcome to the Elk Rapids DDA

The Elk Rapids Downtown Development Authority (DDA) is tasked with analyzing the impact of economic changes in the downtown district and developing plans in coordination with the Village Council and Planning Commission to promote orderly economic growth in the downtown development district. The most recent Downtown Development and Tax Increment Financing plans were adopted in 2011.

Photo of Downtown Elk Rapids during an Evening on River Street event during Harbor Days by 2021 Summer Intern Lauren Benitez.

DDA Funding Requests

The DDA encourages qualified organizations and businesses that are planning events and activities within the DDA district to apply for funding support. For more information, please download the DDA FUNDING REQUEST GUIDELINES AND APPLICATION FORM (PDF).

FOR MORE DDA RESOURCES, PLEASE VISIT THE DOCUMENT CENTER

DDA MONTHLY NEWSLETTER

Check out the DDA’s September 2022 newsletter!

2022-11 │ DDA NEWSLETTER │ WITH C2AE PRESENTATION & MI PLANNER ARTICLE (1)

DDA Members

The DDA meets on the second Wednesday of each month at 6:00 p.m. in the Government Center (315 Bridge St., Elk Rapids, MI 49629).

Doug VanCura – Chair │ Term ending 2024

email: dvancura@elkrapids.org

Christine Petersen – Vice Chair  │ Term ending 2023

email: cpetersen@elkrapids.org

Becky Lancaster – Secretary  │ Term ending 2026

email: blancaster@elkrapids.org

Jaquelyn Bos │ Term ending 2024

email: jbos@elkrapids.org

Barbara Matthews │ Term ending 2025

email: bmatthews@elkrapids.org

Sandy Ehlers │ Term ending 2026

email: sehlers@elkrapids.org

Matt Doran  │  Term ending 2025

email: mdoran@elkrapids.org

John Petrovich │ Term ending 2026

email: jpetrovich@elkrapids.org

JANET RENTSCH │ Term ending 2023

email: jrentsch@elkrapids.org

James Janisse – Village President – Council Representative

email:  jjanisse@elkrapids.org

WANT TO VOLUNTEER ON THE DOWNTOWN DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY?

The Village of Elk Rapids is always seeking dedicated individuals to volunteer on boards and commissions. If you are interested in such a position, fill out an application form and either turn it in to the Village Government Center or email it to vllgclerk@elkrapids.org. Your application will be kept on file for one year. Vacant seats on the commissions and boards are usually filled in the month of April.

COMMISSION APPLICATION FORM (PDF)

Please note that the DDA has specific requirements to be  member, including being a business owner, having a business interest in the district, or being a resident of the district. For information on time commitments, requirements, and other general information about this commission, please read through the bylaws:

DDA BYLAWS (PDF)