Photo of Downtown Elk Rapids, photograph courtesy of Lakehoue Creative.

Welcome to the Elk Rapids DDA

The Elk Rapids Downtown Development Authority (DDA) is tasked with analyzing the impact of economic changes in the downtown district and developing plans in coordination with the Village Council and Planning Commission to promote orderly economic growth in the downtown development district. The most recent Downtown Development and Tax Increment Financing plans were adopted in 2011.

Photo of Downtown Elk Rapids courtesy of Jeff Turick, Lakehouse Creative

COVID-19 Resources – We Are Here For You

*NEW* 2021 DDA RELIEF FUND GRANT (PDF)

DDA COVID Response (PDF)

Business Reopen Safely Tool Kit  (PDF)

PAYCHECK PROTECTION PROGRAM RELIEF (PDF)

FOR MORE DDA RESOURCES, PLEASE VISIT THE DOCUMENT CENTER

DDA Members

The DDA meets on the second Wednesday of each month at 6:30 p.m. in the Government Center (315 Bridge St., Elk Rapids, MI 49629).

Christine Petersen – Vice Chair  │ Term ending 2022

email: cpetersen@elkrapids.org

Kathy Wittbrodt  │ Term ending 2022

email: kwittbrodt@elkrapids.org

Katy Caddy  │ Term ending 2024

email: kcaddy@elkrapids.org

Becky Lancaster – Secretary  │ Term ending 2022

email: blancaster@elkrapids.org

Jim Witte – Chair  │ Term ending 2022

email: jwitte@elkrapids.org

Kelsey Duda  │ Term ending 2022

email: kduda@elkrapids.org

Doug VanCura  │ Term ending 2024

email: dvancura@elkrapids.org

James Janisse – Village President – Council Representative

email:  jjanisse@elkrapids.org

WANT TO VOLUNTEER ON THE DOWNTOWN DEVELOPMENT AUTHOIRTY?

The Village of Elk Rapids is always seeking dedicated individuals to volunteer on boards and commissions. If you are interested in such a position, fill out an application form and either turn it in to the Village Government Center or email it to vllgclerk@elkrapids.org. Your application will be kept on file for one year. Vacant seats on the commissions and boards are usually filled in the month of April.

COMMISSION APPLICATION FORM (PDF)

Please note that the DDA has specific requirements to be  member, including being a business owner, having a business interest in the district, or being a resident of the district. For information on time commitments, requirements, and other general information about this commission, please read through the bylaws:

DDA BYLAWS (PDF)